Two Linebarger Team Members Awarded Scholarships

November 14, 2023

Two of Linebarger’s Ohio team members have been awarded the Russell Meade Memorial Scholarship from the Ohio Receivables Management Association.

Paralegal Gabby Acevedo-Mayo and Collection Supervisor Avery Walker work out of Linebarger’s office in Dublin, Ohio and both began law school in August 2022 at Capital University Law School.

“I am so very proud to be involved in supporting and witnessing the phenomenal growth and successes of Gabby and Avery. They each embody the ultimate professionalism during their work day, and then they leave the office, and with equal vigor and determination, they take on an entirely different life challenge in their law school persona,” says Managing Partner, Scott McGlasson, who has mentored the pair. “There is no doubt they will be successful and impactful in whatever they embark upon into the future.”

“Being chosen as a recipient of the Russell Meade Memorial Scholarship is truly a blessing. Law school has brought many expected and unexpected challenges and I am extremely grateful for the endless support I am receiving from my family, friends, colleagues (aka my work fam) and classmates,” said Gabby Acevedo-Mayo. “I will continue to work towards becoming the exemplary attorney I have always imagined myself becoming. A special shout out to my mentors George H. Calloway and Scott McGlasson for their support and wisdom throughout this journey! Thank you Tony Taylor for all the times you always seem to know when I need a word of encouragement and strength. Plus, another shout out to Andrea Beardman and Suzanne Jennings for always making sure I don’t forget to take care of me as well!”

“I am so thankful to be a recipient of the Russell Meade Memorial Scholarship and to be supported by the Ohio Receivables Management Association.  While law school has been the most difficult, yet rewarding challenge, the entire LGBS Dublin Office has been so supportive! I want to extend a special thank you to Scott McGlasson for his guidance and for being a role-model day in and day out. Thank you to George Calloway for the continued advice and perspective. I would also like to thank Andrea Beardman, Suzanne Jennings, Eric Jennings, and Ralph Polk for their unwavering support along the way,” said Avery Walker.